The Corporate Fund Nonprofit Management Award presented in honor of Walter J. Dunfey

Walter J. Dunfey

Walter J. Dunfey

Annual awards for excellence in management are made by The Corporate Fund in tribute to Walter J. Dunfey, New Hampshire businessman, philanthropist and leader. Walter J. Dunfey was a successful entrepreneur and business executive, a co‐founder and director of Dunfey Hotels (now known as Omni International Hotels) and subsequently The Dunfey Group. In 1982, as Vice Chair of the New Hampshire Charitable Foundation, he took the lead in establishing The Corporate Fund, approaching other New Hampshire business leaders with a novel concept: that companies pool their financial resources and management expertise to strengthen the state’s nonprofit organizations. The Corporate Fund Award for Nonprofit Management is given annually in honor of Walter J. Dunfey to recognize his contributions to philanthropy in New Hampshire and his role in founding The Corporate Fund.

The basic objective of The Corporate Fund is to increase the effectiveness of nonprofit organizations by funding projects that will strengthen their management and improve their long term financial stability. Such a program is needed because these program are being asked to provide more services today then ever before while traditional government support is being reduced.
— Walter Dunfey, on the establishment of The Corporate Fund, November 1982

The Corporate Fund recognizes that management in the nonprofit sector is among the most demanding and most important work in our society. Often, effective management within the nonprofit community goes unrecognized. The Corporate Fund created this award to recognize outstanding management skill and talent within the nonprofit sector. Awards may be given to up to two organizations each year, rating their effectiveness based on a written application and an interview with staff and board leadership. Applicants are asked to address the following areas of organizational capacity:

  • Program Delivery and Impact
  • Mission, Vision and Strategy
  • Governance and Leadership
  • Strategic Relationships
  • Funding and Resource Development
  • Internal Operations and Management

Each recipient is honored before their peers at the NH Center for Nonprofits' Leadership Summit, and receives a $3,500 unrestricted cash award.

Home Healthcare, Hospice and Community Services

Home Healthcare, Hospice and Community Services

The Corporate Fund’s Award for Excellence in Nonprofit Management honors innovative, highly successful organizations that strengthen our communities. Effective leadership is more important than ever in the nonprofit sector, and this award recognizes and rewards the most creative and well-managed organizations.
— Richard Ober, President and CEO, The New Hampshire Charitable Foundation

How to Apply

Applications for the 2014 Nonprofit Management Award were due by July 21, 2014. The application window for this year is thus closed.

Pending applications are being reviewed, finalists will be interviewed, and a winner will be announced at the New Hampshire Center for Nonprofits Summit on September 19, 2014.

Award recipients are selected by a review panel of representatives from The Corporate Fund member companies. The review process begins with a written application, submitted to the NH Charitable Foundation. Following the review, finalists (represented by the Executive Director and the Board Chair) will be asked to attend an interview with the reviewers on August 14, 2014.


All organizations applying must be public charities tax‐exempt under Section 501(c)3 of the IRS code. Applications from small and large nonprofits in New Hampshire are welcome.

Applicants must be incorporated and located in New Hampshire and a significant proportion of clients must be New Hampshire residents. Local chapters of national organizations may apply, provided their organizations are locally managed and have full financial information available on a local basis.

In keeping with The Corporate Fund’s general guidelines, the competition is not open to hospitals or colleges. Social, religious, fraternal, labor, and athletic groups are also not eligible to apply.

Past award recipients are eligible to reapply after 10 years.